MHB Skills Lab successfully certified by GMA

Neuruppin, 12 July 2018

The Teaching and Communication Centre (LuK) in Neuruppin and the Brandenburg Centre for Learning and Interdisciplinary Training (BLiTZ) in Brandenburg an der Havel are the first skills labs in Germany to receive the quality label of the GMA’s Practical Skills Committee (APF).

Quote from the expert report: “The MHB skills lab, with its relatively young history and the particular challenge of two locations, is a key element in the planning and implementation of teaching in the medical model curriculum. Reviewers were impressed by consistent and sustainable planning and development at both sites. All parties involved in the review process – faculty, skills lab management, instructors and students – contributed to the congruent result. In contrast to traditional medical schools, the training reforms initiated here at the MHB are closely linked to the skills labs at both sites.”

Over a 4-year period the APF had drawn up minimum and development standards for skills labs, with the aim to establish joint quality standards for skills labs in the German-speaking area, and had passed them on 31 March 2017. GMA as the issuing body is the gold standard for medical education in Germany. The certification of the MHB skills lab is dated 24 March 2018 and valid up to 24 March 2025. You find the pertinent certificate here.

Dr. Susen Schulze who is in charge of the MHB skills lab is highly pleased to note that the lab concept meets, and in some areas even surpasses, the high GMA requirements: “We managed to demonstrate that our approaches in curricular and extracurricular peer teaching as part of the medical curriculum, our tutor qualifications, the internal quality control system and the equipment of classrooms comply with GMA requirements. My thanks go to all students and staff involved in the certification process, and in particular to our tutors: Adrian Gahleitner, Jennifer Gierke, Benedikt Hüfner, Sebastian Kersten, Julia Knocks, Maria König, Justus Kugelberg, Jonathan Nübel, Niklas Schäfer, Fabian Schipmann and Wiebke Tschorr. Their combined dedicated efforts over a 10-month preparation period played a key role in the successful accreditation.”