Hans-Uwe Simon elected as new MHB president

Neuruppin, 17 December 2020

Today, Thursday, the MHB senate elected Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Hans-Uwe Simon (62) as new president of the MHB, following a unanimous proposal by the selection board. On 1 September 2021 he is going to succeed Prof. Dr. Edmund A. Neugebauer who did not stand for re-election after a successful 5-year term in office. Like his predecessor, Prof. Simon will also accept the additional duties of a scientific director.

Gabriele Wolter, managing director of the Brandenburg Municipal Hospital, headed the selection board whose members included associates, clinicians, professors and students. She welcomes the presidential candidate’s “long-term experience in research, teaching and university management, in experimental and clinical research, and his familiarity with interdisciplinary research structures and scientific networks he created in Switzerland and internationally. He is the president of the renowned Novartis foundation, chairs the academic advisory board of the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research in Leipzig and holds memberships of major research associations, among them the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Another very positive aspect about his election is that we can organise the succession and transition at an early stage. This ensures planning security for future developments at the MHB.”

Hans-Uwe Simon comes to Brandenburg from Switzerland where he was Dean of the Medical School at the University of Berne from 2016 to 2020 and, since 2000 had been active as a professor of pharmacology and Director of the Institute of Pharmacology.

Hans-Uwe Simon was born in Eisenach in 1958. He completed his medical studies with a doctorate at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena in 1985. Further stations in his career were the Universities of Toronto/Canada (1990-1992), of Zurich/Switzerland (1992-2000), of Jerusalem/Israel (1996-2001) and finally Berne. There he directed the Institute of Pharmacology from 2000 and served as vice dean for research from 2012 to 2016 and as dean from 2016 to 2020 at the Medical School.