International Finances

ERASMUS, the programme for tertiary education, has become one of the European Union’s big success stories. It comprises various programme lines to foster cross-border mobility of university students, teachers and staff within Europe.

The MHB is currently applying for the status of a European university so that its students can participate in the ERASMUS+ programme from 2018 and receive funds no later than 2019. This page will be updated as new information becomes available.


Group of countries with high cost of living (Austria, Denmark, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom): monthly mobility allowance of EUR 300 in 2016/17

Group of countries with medium cost of living (Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey): monthly mobility allowance of EUR 240 in 2016/17

Group of countries with low cost of living (Bulgaria, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Rumania, Slovakia, Rumania, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia): monthly mobility allowance of EUR 180 in 2017

(All data and information is subject to change and conditional on financial allocation by the EU Commission.)

Funding for studies abroad (Auslandsbafög)

Even students who are not recipients of funding under the Federal Education Assistance Act (BAföG) may apply for Auslandsbafög for their study period abroad. Different conditions apply for partial studies and full-time studies abroad. Funding is available for study periods abroad which take place in the context of full-time studies in Germany. There is no time limit for such stays within the European Union. The maximum funding period for study periods outside the EU is one year, and two and a half years for specific reasons.

For more information see www.auslandsbafö and